We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Farron urges local people to enter entrepreneurial awards

April 15, 2013 4:30 PM

TIm Farron at the South Lakes school technology tournamentSouth Lakes MP Tim Farron is urging local people to get involved and enter the Enterprising Britain Awards 2013 to demonstrate the entrepreneurial flair in the Lake District.

The annual Enterprising Britain Awards form part of the Department of Business Innovation & Skills (BIS) ongoing work to highlight the range of enterprising areas across the UK and is open to all cities, towns, places, areas or organisations in the UK that promote enterprise, entrepreneurship and exporting, in partnership with public bodies.

There are four Awards Categories which are:

  • the most enterprising area in the UK
  • the organisation that best promotes enterprise
  • the organisation most successful in encouraging businesses to export
  • the school/FE college in the country that is best at supporting enterprise ambition in young people
As in past years, two of the UK Award winners will be selected to become the UK's entries into the European Enterprise Promotion Awards, where in 2012 the UK entry from YTKO also won the top European Award, the Grand Jury Prize. The closing date for applications is 7th June 2013.
Commenting Tim said: "This is a great opportunity local businesses, community groups and organisations across the South Lakes showcase what we have to offer in our area and to gain recognition and celebrate the work that they are doing to strengthen our local economy through a range of enterprising and entrepreneurial activity."

Applications this year will be accepted online at www.enterprisingbritainawards.co.uk which provides comprehensive details on all the award categories, as well as accepting online registration and completed applications for this year's awards.