We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Lakes MP named as MP of the year

November 6, 2014 12:41 PM

South Lakes MP Tim Farron has been named as MP of the yearMr Speaker, Rt Hon John Bercow MP announced the Patchwork Foundation MPs of the Year 2014 at Speakers House on 5th November 2014, for those MPs who have represented and work well with underrepresented, deprived and minority communities across the country. South Lakes MP Tim Farron was named as Liberal Democrat MP for the year.

Announcing the winners from the State Rooms, in the Speaker's House, The Rt Hon John Bercow MP said: "I would like to give my best wishes to the Patchwork Foundation and congratulate them for their work over the last 12 months"

Liberal Democrat MP of the Year 2014 Tim Farron MP said: "I'm immensely proud to have been awarded this Patchwork Foundation award, and want to thank the panel. I'm committed to doing all I can to engage those who are often disconnected from or forgotten by our political system, both in my role as President of the Lib Dems and MP for the South Lakes. I look forward to continuing to work with Patchwork, to do more to engage underrepresented communities across the UK. "

Rt Hon Nick Clegg MP, Leader of the Liberal Democrats said: "I am proud to support the ground breaking work of the Patchwork Foundation. They have helped thousands of young people from under represented communities from across the country to engage in the political process. Through their excellent Get Involved they have a brilliant programme of events, from community engagement events attended by thousands of people to small master-classes with senior political figures. These are leading the way to help break down the barriers facing our communities to engage in politics and tackling prejudice based on people's age, gender, faith, race, and sexual orientation as barriers being faced by young people today.

Huge congratulations to Tim for winning Patchwork Foundation's Liberal Democrat MP of the Year 2014. Tim has been a champion of political engage for underrepresented communities from across the country. He has been a fantastic President for our party - building a stronger economy and fairer society, and he is a deserved winner of this award."

Simon Woolley, OBV Founder and Patchwork National Advisory Board Member said: "The MP of the Year Awards not only highlights the work MPs are doing to better understand their diverse communities, it also applauds those MP's who are encouraging greater civic and political engagement. With many young people, particularly from BME communities feeling a huge disconnect from our elected representatives, the MP of the year awards should be a reminder to all MP's that we expect them to give voice to those unheard, and in doing so the whole of society benefits."

Jonathan Holt KPMG Partner said: "We are delighted to sponsor these awards and help Patchwork encouraging under represented communities connect with the political process. The work done by their volunteers and the time they commit will hopefully inspire young people in all communities to fulfil their true potential. How organisations work with, and within, their local communities is a critical part of inspiring young people. That's why KPMG pioneered a School Leaver Programme, a Business Support Academy and why, only last month KPMG hosted a series of events promoting the importance of inclusion in the workplace. We committed ourselves to ambitions which are quantifiable and against we can be judged - and these targets span across the four areas of gender, ethnicity, disability and sexual orientation. The fact is, everyone has the right to feel safe from discrimination and bring their whole self to work so that they can fulfil their own potential."