We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

MP congratulates 'Jump into Kendal' for winning Wainwright award

February 4, 2015 10:09 AM

TF KendalSouth Lakes MP Tim Farron has congratulated the Facebook Group 'Jump into Kendal' for winning the prestigious Wainwright award.

The annual Wainwright Award is given by Kendal Town Council to the person, association, society, or body who, in the opinion of the trust's administrators, has done most during the year to promote the prestige of Kendal or has contributed significantly to the betterment of its inhabitants.

'Jump into Kendal' is a group of nearly 8,000 members who want to share their memories and good times they have from Kendal. The group also promote the town and many of the charitable, voluntary and community groups within Kendal.

Tim said: "I want to congratulate Darren Ashton and the team behind 'Jump into Kendal'. Their commitment and dedication has been rightly rewarded and I am delighted they have won the Wainwright Award."

Cllr Chris Hogg, South Lakeland District Council's Portfolio Holder for Culture, Arts and Events who nominated 'Jump into Kendal' for the award added: "It was my pleasure to nominate Darren and his team and I'm delighted he has won this prestigious award. 'Jump Into Kendal' are a wonderful community group who do a lot for Kendal."