We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

MP elected chair of new parliamentary radiotherapy group

May 23, 2018 11:08 AM
APPG on radiotherapySouth Lakes MP Tim Farron has been elected the chair of the new All Party Parliamentary Group on radiotherapy.
The new cross-party group held its first meeting today and agreed on its plan for radiotherapy.
This will include pushing the Government to increase the funding for the treatment which currently stands at just 5% of the overall NHS cancer budget.
It will also look at improving access, by lobbying the Government to make sure that no one has to travel more than 45 minutes to travel to their nearest radiotherapy unit.
Currently 60% of people with cancer in the UK will need radiotherapy treatment.
Tim said: "I'm delighted to be elected chair of the new all-party group on radiotherapy.
"Cancer affects us all and radiotherapy is absolutely vital in helping us to combat it.
"I will work hard to make sure that everyone has access to this life-saving treatment."